help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

News / Articles

Women's Equality Day program

Published on 8/28/2020

Women's Equality Day August 26th "We honor the pioneers of women's equality by doing our part to realize the great American dream." - President Barack Obama

The Coalition of Women’s Organizations will have its annual Women’s Equality Day program at 5 p.m. on Aug. 26th. The celebration will honor six local women who have made significant contributions to the community.

The program will be a live virtual event. 

The year 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing and protecting women's constitutional right to vote. The passage marked the largest expansion of democracy in the history of our country.

This event will pay special tribute to Vivian Conley, who was at the forefront of many community issues relating to education, civil rights and older residents, according to a release. Women’s Equality Day celebrates the passage of the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote. Those honored will be awarded a Vivian Conley Recognition Certificate.

In her 60s, Conley decided to enroll at Ball State University and attended at the same time as her daughter and three of her grandsons. She earned her bachelor’s degree in political science and master’s degree in gerontology from Ball State. She was the founder of the Non-Traditional Student Association and was credited with directing more than 150 young people and adults into college programs.  She was active until her death in 1993 at the age of 71.  Then-Gov. Evan Bayh named her a Sagamore of the Wabash.

Honorees for 2020 include:


  • Jennifer Randall, BSU undergraduate-2020-2021 Vivian V. Conley Memorial Re-Entry Scholarship
  • Julie Mason--Distinction in Civic Service
  • Jayne Beilke--Distinction in Scholarship and Service for Racial Inclusion and Justice
  • Linda Hanson-Distinction in Civic Education and Service
  • Faith Serf--Distinction in Public Education
  • Heidi Hale--Distinction in Art, Art Marketing and Community Support
  • Julie Borgman--Distinction in Environmental Protection                                                                     

The coalition is made up of the local branches of the American Association of University Women, League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women, Indiana Women of Achievement Awards Committee, Friends of Conley and the Coalition of 100 Women.  


Public law 93-382 designated Aug. 26 of each year as Women’s Equality Day, which celebrates the passage of the 19th Amendment that gave women the right to vote. This will be the 100th anniversary of the amendment and is a time to honor the achievements of the women who fought for suffrage and salute the successes of today’s women who are making a difference in our community.


Attendees can join the event live, using the following link:


EVENT Live Stream

WaTasha Barnes Griffin (She/Her)